Point-of-View-SA Blog

I’m 80 and Getting a Bit Tired.

Posted on: November 12, 2010


With Apologies to Robert Hall who plays the Coroner in the TV Series CST who set this soliloquy in motion and who is or was a 5 times US Senator.

I’m 80. Except for a six-month period many years ago when between jobs, but job-hunting every day, I’ve worked on the farm hard, since I was 16 and the Navy until 24. Despite some health challenges, I still put in 40-hour weeks, and have called in sick several times only in the past 3 years.

I made a good salary as a professional engineer, but I didn’t inherit my job, my skills or my income, and I worked to get where I finished. Given our current economy, with bread at $4.80 on a bad day and the farmer got 20 cents for the wheat after waiting 4 months to harvest and another 3 months to get fully paid, there’s no retirement for me in sight, I have to keep my woodcraft going to pay the increased water and energy bill and I’m tired. Very tired.

I’m tired of being told that our Labor Government has to “spread the wealth” to people who don’t have my work ethic. I’m tired of being told the Government will take the money earned by industry in energy carbon taxes, by force if necessary, and give it to pensioners but more to asylum seekers and people too lazy to earn it. $100,000 each to 50 asylum seekers over the past 2 years.(Labor Policy Dec 8 2009)

I’m tired of being told that I have to pay more taxes and fees to “keep people in their homes.” Sure, if they lost their jobs or got sick, I’m willing to help. But if they bought McMansions at three times the price of my paid-off, $100,000 home, on one-third of my former salary, then turn to the left-wing Fascist State Government who collapsed the former State Bank by lending to political mates and today do billion dollar secret deals with developers and with the greatest of largess with public money, gave away $10 million to 3 developers when the Monarto Gaol project was scrapped,”because it was the right thing to do”.

I’m tired of being told how bad the 2010 SA State budget has to be by left-wing politicians who just gave themselves a hefty 16% Superannuation hike while denying the nurses 2.5% over 3 years. In the next thirty years or bothered to consider waterproofing the nation for food production.

With the World population to increase by another 2.8 billion( U.N.figures) and politicians serve their own way, both the United States and Australia may well have the economy of Zimbabwe , the freedom of the press of China , the crime and violence of Adelaide , the tolerance for Christians in Iran, and the values lost that form the basis of our Rule of Law that has survived for hundreds of years despite military,religious and political juntas to destroy it. .

After living in Libya in 73 and 74, I’m tired of being told that Islam is a “Religion of Peace,” when often I have witnessed first hand and read news stories of Muslim men killing their sisters, wives and daughters for their family “honor”. Of Muslim men affected over some slight offense that quickly becomes “loss of face” to be settled in blood. Of Muslim men murdering the innocents because they aren’t “believers”. Of Muslim men burning schools for girls to leave them uneducated, barefoot and pregnant. Of stoning teenage rape victims to death for “adultery”, and of Muslim men involved in mutilating the genitals of little girls; all in the name of Allah, because the Qu’ran and Shari’a law tells them or allows them to,

…. and I’m tired of radical Islamist men blowing themselves up and killing the innocents in the process believing they will dwell forever in their version of Paradise for having done so.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Linda: It is not limited to the Liberals. The current State Government has a lot to answer for concerning me and my family.
  • Ahmad Hewes: I loved your blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on...
  • pointofviewsa: Sorry Mr. Mc. Been out of action with an aneurysm repair - not recommended for anyone who likes to be busy and my post op advice is to not consider ri
